The West Meon Community Shop Association Limited is an Industrial and Provident Society governed by the Industrial and Provident Societies Acts 1965 - 2002. In addition, we are regulated by the Financial Services Authority ("FSA") and have signed up to the Village Retail Services Association's ("ViRSA") Model Rules. Full copies of both of both of these rules can be obtained on request - please ask in the shop - and are available at the AGM each year.

The Management Committee for 2009 consists of:

  • Mr David Butcher - Officer (01730829377)
  • Mrs Pam Collins - Officer (01730 829406)
  • Mr John Dawson - Officer (01730 829625)
  • Mr Andy Jacobs - Officer (01730 829155)
  • Mr Philip Jarrett - Treasurer (01730 829425)
  • Mrs Minnie Montagu - Chairman (01730 829628)
  • Mr Rupert Younger - Secretary (01730 829278)

    • and will be eligible to continue in these roles for a period of three years. A third of the committee will submit theselves for re-election every year. Applications to join the Management Committee should be sent in writing to the Chairman and left at the Village Shop.

      The AGM is to be held in June each year . The principal elements of our governance rules are as follows:
      1) The objective of the Association is the preservation and running of the Village Shop.
      2) The Association has the power to run its affairs as it sees fit and may invest its funds or borrow/raise a mortgage against its assets.
      3) Each member may only hold one share. Shares issued will confer the right of a vote in the running of the Association but will not carry any right to interest, dividend or bonus.
      4) The AGM will be held within six months of the close of the financial year and will include on the agenda resolutions to receive the accounts and the reports of the Management Committee, the election of the Management Committee, the fixing of annual subscriptions (if any), the appointment of an auditor (if required) and any other business. A quorum will be five members or 10% of the members, whichever is the greater. Voting will be by show of hands, but a secret ballot may be requested by at least two members at the meeting. At least 12 members or 10% of the members, whichever is less, may require an extraordinary meeting.
      5) The first Management Committee will comprise the Founder Members of the Association. Thereafter, membership of the Committee will be at least four and no more than eight members who are elected at the AGM. All members of the Committee will retire annually but be eligible for re-election. Only shareholders over the age of 18 will be eligible. The Management Committee has the power to run the business of the Association as it sees fit except for the powers vested in the AGM.
      6) The Association will not trade for profit. Any surplus will be applied to general reserves for the continuation and development of the Association or to make payments for social or charitable purposes compatible with the objects.
      7) The Association may be dissolved only by the consent of 75% of the members. The net assets of the Association shall not be distributed amongst the members but shall be transferred to such organisation or organisations having objects similar to compatible with those of the Association as may be decided by the members.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player